Renaissance and baroque

Missa Virgo Prudentissima – Heinrich Isaac

This masterpiece is a synthesis of his artistry and a stunning example of Isaac’s inventiveness in its use of the cantus frmus. The words of the antiphon are skilfully distributed alternatively between the diferent voices and manages to create a richness of sound in which the words of the antiphon and the Ordinary of the Mass blend together.

Le Printemps – Claude Lejeune

Artistic testament of the composer, “Le Printemps” became emblematic of a new esthetics related to the humanistic current of the Academy of poetry and music, at the end of the 16th century. Claude Le Jeune masters with a consummate art the contrepoint as well as the polyphony ans his unequalled sense of prosody makes his work one of the most beautiful musical settings of the French language.

Forgotten polyphonies

French faux-bourdons (16th-19thc.)

Already in the middle-ages but mostly from the Renaissance, the chant in the french Church dressed in polyphony to magnify the solemnity of a celebraton. This vocal pieces were called «Faux-bourdons» or simple contrapunct and they enlightened the melody and the text of the chant.

Renaissance et baroque

Missa Virgo Prudentissima – Heinrich Isaac

Ce chef-d’œuvre synthétise tout son art, il est un exemple frappant de l’ingéniosité d’Isaac dans l’utilisation du cantus firmus ; le texte de l’antienne est habilement distribué alternativement aux différentes voix et permet de créer une sonorité riche où se mélangent les textes de l’antienne et de l’ordinaire de la messe. Rarement la polyphonie de ce début de la Renaissance a atteint un tel degré de plénitude sonore et d’invention perpétuellement renouvelée.

Le Printemps – Claude Le Jeune

Testament artistique du compositeur, « Le Printemps » est devenu emblématique d’une nouvelle esthétique liée à la mouvance humaniste de l’Académie de poésie et de musique, à la fin du 16è siècle. Claude Le Jeune maîtrise avec un art consommé le contrepoint comme la polyphonie et son sens inégalé de la prosodie fait de son œuvre une des plus belles mises en musique de la langue française.

Polyphonies oubliées

Faux-bourdons français du 16ème au 19ème siècle

Au Moyen-âge déjà mais principalement à partir de la Renaissance, le plain-chant d’Eglise s’habillait de polyphonie lorsque l’exigeait la solennité de l’occasion. Les œuvres ainsi chantées étaient appelées faux-bourdons ou contrepoint simple et mettaient en valeur la mélodie du chant grégorien et son texte.